Nightmares

by Meritxell Riera Prims

Image

When something’s happened that makes me feel uneasy, I’m scared of going to sleep, because I know I’m going to have some kind of nightmare.
Last night I dreamed of my recently deceased grandmother. She was in her house again (she had spent the last two years of her life in an old people’s home) and I had to protect her from some looney who had broken into the house in the middle of the night and was searching for something. I took some kind of machete from my great grandmother’s old room (I used to sleep in this room as a child) to protect her and myself, while I was unsuccessfully trying to reach for her sister’s number in my cellphone.
When we finally faced the guy, a young handsome guy… I kissed him (although still holding my weapon tight)…
What the hell is wrong with me?

