No, I’m not my worst enemy

by Meritxell Riera Prims

Self-help is bullshit.

Don’t get me wrong: I consider myself to be an espiritual and reflective person. But self-help speeches are so useful to the real enemy out there, since they pour all responsibility for our failures in ourselves. 

That would be true if, in fact, the pain we suffer was self-inflicted. But it usually is a product of our circumstances as much as it is a product of our personal condition. 

Self-help is isolating. The word itself is apparent: you can only find answers within yourself. And yeah, you can… as long as you’ve been answered a few questions previously, and you’ve been given some guidelines, so that in your time of need you may resort to them to help you out.

Self-help disconnects you from the rest of the world and makes you believe you can be special, some sort of superhero… Ah, the American dream! The philosophy of Capitalism and Liberalism has permeated all cultures around the world with by means of globalization.

Most people don’t realise that the classic Judeo-Christian feeling of guilt, and the Protestant work ethics has just transformed itself through New Age philosophies. 

Invoking ego as the absolute Evil in the world… Yeah, that’s right: ego hurts me. Others’s egos. That’s why I try to keep my eyes open and be alert. 

Isn’t it a huge irony that self-help can be so hurtful itself? 

