What am I?

by Meritxell Riera Prims

got_s2promo_600_jaqen-hghar

Tom Wlaschiha as Jaqen H’ghar, the faceless master of Arya Stark in the Game of Thrones series, based on the books by George R. R. Martin.

I grow aware more and more each day about how I would like to be known/seen.

I don’t want to be known or recognized for what I think, neither for what I am (what am I, indeed?). I would like to to be known, at least, for what I do, as much as it changes every now and then.

If I stop to think,

I am

To my father, a son

To my son, a father

To my older brother, a little brother

To my little brother, an older brother

To my wife, a husband

To my sister, a brother

To my uncle, a nephew

To my nephew, an uncle

To my teacher, a pupil

To my pupil, a teacher

To my country, a taxpayer

To my town, an army reserve

To my friend, a friend

To my enemy, an enemy

To my doctor, a patient

To my regular pub, a regular costumer

To my dog, a master

To my house, an owner.

 

Therefore

I am

Son

Father

Little brother

Older brother

Husband

Brother

Nephew

Uncle

Pupil

Teacher

Taxpayer

Army reserve

Friend

Enemy

Patient

Regular costumer

Dog master

Owner

And not just one I

 

Tell me,

Then

What’s

The I

No one knows, The I

Here and now,

Who is

I?

김광규 (Kim Kwang Kyu), I, from Faint shadows of love (Huimihan yetsarang-ui geurimja) (1991).

(I apologize, since I translated it from Spanish, as I did not find the English translation, and it might not be completely accurate).

 

